Facebook has yet again come under fire for invading its member’s privacy.

The app is activating iPhone cameras without the user’s knowledge while they are scrolling through the platform.

The issue seems to only plague smartphones that are operating on iOS 13.2.2 and occur when a user swipes ‘rapidly’ through the app. 

Joshua Maddux was the first to shed light on this issue and shared a video on Twitter showing how it works.

‘Found a @facebook #security & #privacy issue. When the app is open it actively uses the camera,’ Maddux wrote in the post.

Joshua Maddux was the first to shed light on this issue and shared a video on Twitter showing how it works

Joshua Maddux was the first to shed light on this issue and shared a video on Twitter showing how it works

‘I found a bug in the app that lets you see the camera open behind your feed. Note that I had the camera pointed at the carpet.’

Through more testing, he also discovered that this issue only seems to plague iOS devices running on 13.2.2, as first reported by The Next Web.

‘I will note that iPhones running iOS 12 don’t show the camera (not to say that it’s not being used),’ Maddux said, suggesting that users with earlier operating systems will not be victims of Facebook’s spy tactics.

Facebook’s VP of integrity Guy Rosen has responded via Twitter, noting that they firm is launching an investigation.

DailyMail.com has reached out to Facebook for comment and has yet to receive a response.

Some users are questioning whether the issue stems from the Facebook app or is a problem with Apple's operating system

Some users are questioning whether the issue stems from the Facebook app or is a problem with Apple’s operating system

Although it seems like a bug of some sort, the issue has sparked worry among users who have flocked to Twitter to share their concerns

Although it seems like a bug of some sort, the issue has sparked worry among users who have flocked to Twitter to share their concerns

The issue seems to be triggered when a user clicks on an ad and then rapidly clicks away, or opens a different users' profile picture and rapidly swipes down

The issue seems to be triggered when a user clicks on an ad and then rapidly clicks away, or opens a different users’ profile picture and rapidly swipes down

The issue seems to be triggered when a user clicks on an ad and then rapidly clicks away, or opens a different users’ profile picture and rapidly swipes down. 

In order to block Facebook from infiltrating your camera, Maddux has suggested turning off camera access in your smartphone’s settings – the area where the app is attempting to use the camera will then show up as black. 

Although it seems like a bug of some sort, the issue has sparked worry among users who have flocked to Twitter to share their concerns. 

The issue raises questions regarding Facebook users’ privacy, as the app is not asking for permission prior to using the individual’s camera nor does it notify them when the camera is activated. 

In order to block Facebook from infiltrating your camera, Maddux has suggested turning off camera access in your smartphone's settings – the area where the app is attempting to use the camera will then show up as black. But some users are still bothered by the issue

In order to block Facebook from infiltrating your camera, Maddux has suggested turning off camera access in your smartphone’s settings – the area where the app is attempting to use the camera will then show up as black. But some users are still bothered by the issue

Rene Ritchie shared, ‘Bug or feature, Facebook keeps immolating itself when it comes to dignity and privacy’.

READ  Queen shares digital milestone with royal Instagram followers

The social media giant has been under fire for its lack of privacy concerns over the past year, following an incident were the firm sold data from 50 million users to Cambridge Analytica in 2018.

Users were left baffled when they found that thousands of software plugins for Facebook have been gathering their data.

Some of the better known apps that may be connected to your profile include those of popular sites like Amazon, Buzzfeed, Expedia, Etsy, Instagram, Spotify and Tinder.

However, Facebook CEO revealed in May of this year he and his team are are working on a privacy-focused redesign.

Facebook hopes that the new redesign will encourage users to spend more time interacting in smaller, more intimate groups — such as available through their various private instant messaging apps.

However, the latest ‘bug’ that lets Facebook access a user’s iPhone may have more deleting the app than using it.

HOW DOES FACEBOOK PLAN TO IMPROVE PRIVACY?

In a March 6 blog post, Facebook CEO Mark Zuckerberg promised to rebuild based on six ‘privacy-focused’ principles:

  • Private interactions
  • Encryption 
  • Reducing permanence
  • Safety 
  • Interoperability
  • Secure data storage

Zuckerberg promised end-to-end encryption for all of its messaging services, which will be combined in a way that allows users to communicate across WhatsApp, Instagram Direct, and Facebook Messenger. 

This he refers to as ‘interoperability.’ 

He also said moving forward, the firm won’t hold onto messages or stories for ‘longer than necessary’ or ‘longer than people want them.’

This could mean, for example, that users set messages to auto-delete after a month or even a few minutes. 

READ  Moon landing conspiracy: Do weird shadows on the Moon prove NASA faked Apollo 11 footage?

‘Interoperability’ will ensure messages remain encrypted even when jumping from one messaging service, such as WhatsApp, to another, like Instagram, Zuckerberg says. 

Facebook also hopes to improve users’ trust in how it stores their data.

Zuckerberg promised the site ‘won’t store sensitive data in countries with weak records on human rights like privacy and freedom of expression in order to protect data from being improperly accessed.’

 





READ SOURCE

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here