Steven Gerrard gives his verdict on Manchester United penalty decision in PSG win

Liverpool icon Steven Gerrard admits officials made the correct call (Picture: Getty)

Steven Gerrard believes the officials made the correct decision in awarding Manchester United a last-gasp penalty as Ole Gunnar Solskjaer’s side knocked PSG out of the Champions League.

United became the first team in history to progress through to the quarter-finals after losing the first leg of their last-16 clash 2-0 at home.

PSG looked destined to progress as Kylian Mbappe had a golden chance to put the tie to bed in the 83rd minute but David de Gea’s heroics meant Solskjaer’s men still had a glimmer of hope.

In the 94th minute, Diogo Dalot’s shot struck Presnel Kimpembe’s arm and referee Damir Skomina awarded United a spot-kick following a VAR review of the incident.

Marcus Rashford converted the penalty and Neymar labelled the decision a ‘disgrace’ – but Liverpool legend Gerrard applauded the officials’ call.

‘I think VAR gets a lot more things right and accurate which is great for the game. It’s not nice when you’re on the wrong side of one like PSG last night,’ the Rangers manager said.

‘But listening to some of the officials’ comments on it last night was very interesting. They say the penalty decision was correct and the referee was correct.

Dalot’s shot struck Kimpembe’s arm (Picture: Getty)

‘When I saw it initially myself I’m thinking the PSG defender was very hard done by and it was very harsh of PSG.

‘But if you look at the rules it was the right decision. That’s the reason VAR is so important because without it that gets missed and Manchester United go out of the cup.

‘It would have been nice from a Liverpool point of view but it would have been an injustice.’

Neymar was furious with the decision (Picture: Getty)

Neymar, who watched on from the touchline as Rashford ended PSG’s hopes, blasted officials for the decision at the Parc des Princes.

‘It’s a disgrace. Four guys who know nothing about football watch a slow-motion replay in front of the television,’ the Brazilian said.

‘What can [Kimpembe] do with his hand while his back is turned?

Tuchel questioned the officials’ decision (Picture: Getty)

Thomas Tuchel claimed that the penalty should not have been awarded as Dalot’s shot was heading over the crossbar.

‘From my point of view I watched Dalot take the shot. I saw the ball flying straight from his foot and for me it was clear it was going way over the bar,’ the PSG boss said.

‘There are many things to discuss before taking the decision and I think it’s a 50-50 decision.

‘What makes it super hard is I had the clear feeling the shot was not on target, and to get rewarded with a penalty, there is no logic.’

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web
browser that
supports HTML5

MORE: Jose Mourinho ‘almost 100 per cent’ certain to be the next Real Madrid manager


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.