Red Bull announces Player One 2019 1v1 LoL tournament

Red Bull is bringing back its 1v1 League of Legends tournament, titled Player One, for 2019.

The competition first kicked off in Brazil in 2015 and has had 30,000 participants to date. It promises to once again feature ‘the world’s best amateur duellists and has been put together in conjunction with Riot Games.

Last year, the Ireland Red Bull final was won by Daniel “Zoinkers” White, and the overall grand finals were won by Erik “ZiViZ” Lövgren, a Swede who previously played in the UK League of Legends scene.

This year players will compete across 25 participating countries – including the UK – in online qualifiers and offline events, with the tournament getting underway in April.

Winners from the qualifiers will officially represent their country at the world final in São Paulo, Brazil. This promises to be ‘a large-scale event featuring League content creators and media coverage’ in December, where the winner will be crowned the Champion of Summoners.

Winners of the national finals will also have the chance to join the Red Bull Player One Bootcamp, which involves staying in a gaming house with League pros ready to pass along winning tactics and strategies to participants as they prep for the world final.

“I came home absurdly hyped,” said Julio Cesar Cruz, a competitor from last year who spent a week in the bootcamp. “I played a championship, was called for a test and then signed to become a professional player.”

Julio, who plays under summoner name ‘NOsFerus’, is now the mid-laner for Santos e-Sports.

Red Bull Player One will feature a 1v1 blind pick game mode in the mid-lane on Summoner’s Rift.

As usual in 1v1 modes, whoever gets first blood, reaches 100cs or destroys the opponent’s tower will win.

Preliminary stops on the tour are set to include:

  • Albania

  • Argentina

  • Bosnia

  • Brazil

  • Canada

  • Chile

  • Colombia

  • Denmark

  • Egypt

  • France

  • Georgia

  • Germany

  • Ireland

  • Japan

  • Jordan

  • Kosovo

  • Kuwait

  • Mauritius

  • Mexico

  • Peru

  • Portugal

  • Serbia

  • Slovenia

  • Spain

  • Sweden

  • Turkey

  • United Arab Emirates

  • United Kingdom

To take part, entrants must not participate in the current LCS, LEC, LCK or LPL or any other professional leagues. They must be at least 16 years old and can only take part in one country’s qualifier.

Sign-up information will be revealed soon. In the meantime, you can check out the announcement trailer:


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.