Neil Young announces previously unreleased live album 'Tuscaloosa'

The live album was originally recorded in 1973

Neil Young has announced the release of new archival live album, ‘Tuscaloosa’.

Recorded on February 5, 1973 at the University of Alabama, it made up a part of Young’s tour with his backing band the Stray Gators. Featuring material from ‘Harvest’, ‘Time Fades Away’, and more, ‘Tuscaloosa’ arrives June 7, 2019. It will be released as a single CD and a three-sided vinyl album with etched artwork on side four.

Standing at 11 tracks, ‘Tuscaloosa’ is shorter than the original performance because the show tape didn’t capture the whole thing, according to Young’s engineer, John Hanlon. ‘The Loner’ also doesn’t feature because it was out of tune and ‘On The Way Home’ is absent simply as it appears on too many other live albums.

Young defended his decision to release the show with songs missing in a letter to a fan on his Neil Young Archives website. “We don’t like to release a lot of songs on many albums, so ‘On The Way Home’ went by the wayside,” he explained. “‘The Loner’ was just not good enough. I still make those decisions because I am here on the planet. However, those two versions will be available in the archives for members to hear. I have no plans to release everything I have ever recorded. Some of it is just not good enough.”

Read the album’s tracklist and listen to the ‘Tuscaloosa’ rendition of ‘Don’t Be Denied’ below:

‘Tuscaloosa’ tracklist:

‘Here We Are in the Years’
‘After the Gold Rush’
‘Out on the Weekend’
‘Old Man’
‘Heart of Gold’
‘Time Fades Away’
‘Lookout Joe’
‘New Mama’
‘Don’t Be Denied’

In other news, Neil Young and Crazy Horse are getting back in the studio to record their first album together in seven years.

The two camps last worked together on 2012’s ‘Psychedelic Pill’ album, although they reunited last year to play a show together.


Leave a Reply