celebrity news

MTV EMAs 2019: Liam Gallagher crowned Rock Icon as Ariana Grande is snubbed

Liam Gallagher received the inaugural Rock Icon award at the MTV EMAs in Seville.

The former Oasis star said he wanted “to recognise MTV for recognising my brilliance” in his brief acceptance speech, before closing the night with a two song set comprising Britpop classic Wonderwall and his new solo single Once.

Taylor Swift and Billie Eilish led the way with two wins each, with Eilish picking up awards for best song for her single Bad Guy and for best newcomer.

Swift, who did not attend the ceremony, was crowned best US act and was also recognised for the video for ME, the first single from her seventh studio album Lover. 

Hits: Gallagher performed an Oasis classic at the ceremony (Getty Images for MTV)

K-pop superstars BTS also put in a strong showing, winning the trophies for best live act and best fans.

However Ariana Grande was completely snubbed, failing to win a single award despite being nominated in seven categories. 

Old Town Road singer Lil Nas X, who picked up six nominations ahead of the event, also went home empty handed.

The awards ceremony took place at the FIBES Conference and Exhibition Centre in Seville and was hosted by Becky G. 

Aside from Gallagher, other performers included Dua Lipa, Mabel and Rosalia.

Here are the MTV EMA 2019 winners in full:

  • Best Artist: Shawn Mendes
  • Best US Act: Taylor Swift
  • Best UK Act: Little Mix
  • Best Song: Billie Eilish, Bad Guy
  • Rock Icon: Liam Gallagher
  • Best New Artist: Billie Eilish
  • Best Collaboration: Rosalia ft. J Balvin
  • Best Video: Taylor Swit, ME
  • Best Live Act: BTS
  • Best Rock Act: Green Day
  • Best Alternative: FKA Twigs
  • Best Hip Hop: Nicki Minaj
  • Best Push Act: Ava Max
  • Best World Stage: Muse
  • Best Electronic: Martin Garrix
  • Best Fans: BTS



READ  Claudia Winkleman details mishap prior to going live on Strictly ‘It’s a long story’

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.