Jeffrey de Zwaan defeat leaves Premier League Darts contenders winless in nine matches

Jeffrey de Zwaan started well but faded (Picture: Getty Images)

Jeffrey de Zwaan became the ninth and final ‘contender’ to have a crack at a Premier League player on Thursday night, and he became the ninth to walk away without a win.

The ‘Black Cobra’ started brilliantly in his clash with Rob Cross, taking a 2-0 and 3-1 lead, but couldn’t keep up his sparkling level of performance, slumping to a 7-4 defeat.

The young Dutchman was averaging around 110 early on and checked out a massive 151 to take the second leg, but Cross was not rattled by either the arrows or the noisy Rotterdam crowd.

The Englishman finished with a lower average and checkout ratio than his younger opponent, but he hit the right shots at the right time to pick up his sixth win from nine matches.

Rob Cross did well to battle the crowd in Rotterdam (Picture: PDC/Lawrence Lustig)

‘Jeffrey came out the gates very strong, he’s an incredible talent and he will go far,’ Cross said after the victory.

‘Fair play to the Dutch crowd, they did everything they could and he was a credit to himself as well.’

Nine ‘contenders’ were thrown into the Premier League this season to replace the injured Gary Anderson.

Each had one match to impress, and while most did, none managed to claim a victory against the more established players.

Four managed to pick up a draw, including on Wednesday night when Dimitri van den Bergh held James Wade to a 6-6 stalemate.

The new initiative has produced memorable moments, including John Henderson’s draw with Michael van Gerwen in Aberdeen and Chris Dobey’s amazing entrance in Newcastle, but with no wins from nine, we will wait and see if the PDC bring it back next year.

PDC Chief Executive Matt Porter tweeted: ‘So that’s the end of our contenders….what was your highlight? Invaluable experience for all nine and some fantastic moments. Hope we managed to convince those of you that didn’t like the idea that it was worth a go!’

Premier League ‘contender’ results

  • Chris Dobey 6-6 Mensur Suljovic
  • Glen Durrant 3-7 Daryl Gurney
  • Steve Lennon 5-7 Peter Wright
  • Luke Humphries 6-6 Gerwyn Price
  • John Henderson 6-6 Michael van Gerwen
  • Nathan Aspinall 2-7 Michael Smith
  • Max Hopp 3-7 Raymond van Barneveld
  • Dimitri van den Bergh 6-6 James Wade
  • Jeffrey de Zwaan 4-7 Rob Cross

MORE: Daryl Gurney sets ambitious targets after perfect Premier League nights in Rotterdam

MORE: Raymond van Barneveld reacts to crushing relegation from Premier League Darts in Rotterdam


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.