Brand New Music reveal new boyband will be called AB6IX

Get ready to stan (Picture: Brand New Music)

Brand New Music have finally named their new boyband, even though we still don’t have the full line-up.

C’mon guys, unveil the final member!

The agency has confirmed their new band, consisting of Park Woo Jin, Lee Dae Hwi, Kim Dong Hyun and Lim Young Min, will be called AB6IX.

Brand New Music explained: ‘AB6IX was selected as the abbreviation of ABSOLUTE SIX’ which states Brand New Boys becomes one only when the five members and their fans are together, as well as ABOVE BRANDNEW SIX, which reflects the hopes that the five members and their fans will open up a new plane for Brand New Music.’

This concept was explained in a teaser video entitled The Absolute Beginning, which also unveiled the group’s logo.

In the clip, four lights merged into two circles, before combining and being joined by another light.

This references Lim Young Min and Kim Dong Hyun, who are in the South Korean duo MXM together, and Park Woo Jin and Lee Dae Hwi, who were members of Wanna One.

The fifth and final light represents the as of yet unknown fifth member.

Brand New Music added: ‘The keywords to describes this group are totality, transcendence, growth, and sincerity, and they come together to perfectly complete the puzzle. Each member has a distinct character, and fans will be able to see as they come together to create great synergy.’

AB6IX will debut in May – so Brand New Music have a bit of time before they have to reveal the full line-up.

Got a showbiz story?

If you’ve got a story, video or pictures get in touch with the Entertainment team by emailing us, calling 020 3615 2145 or by visiting our Submit Stuff page – we’d love to hear from you.

MORE: Shane Rimmer, voice of Thunderbirds’ Scott Tracy, dies age 89

MORE: ‘It’s all gone by in a flash’: White Lies reflect on 10 years of To Lose My Life


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.