Virgil van Dijk crowned PFA Player of the Year ahead of Raheem Sterling

Virgil van Dijk has been named PFA Player of the Year (Picture: Liverpool)

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk has been crowned the PFA Player of the Year for the 2018/2019 season.

The Dutchman, a £75million signing from Southampton 18 months ago, has been instrumental in Liverpool’s title challenge.

Van Dijk has led a defence that’s conceded just 20 goals in their 36 matches so far this term, keeping 20 clean sheets along the way.

Manchester City forward Raheem Sterling posed the greatest challenge to Van Dijk but the Dutchman’s peers elected him as the standout performer.

Mohamed Salah ruined the surprise somewhat by confirming Van Dijk’s win two hours before the announcement.

Sterling may have missed out on the main prize but he was named the PFA Young Player of the Year.

The City forward beat the likes of Declan Rice, Marcus Rashford and Bernardo Silva to the prize.

Van Dijk was joined by four Liverpool team-mates in the PFA team of the year in Trent Alexander-Arnold, Andrew Robertson and Sadio Mane.

Raheem Sterling, Sergio Aguero, Ederson, Aymeric Laporte, Bernardo Silva and Fernandinho made up Manchester City’s representation.

Paul Pogba was the only player not from the Premier League’s top-two to be selected.

MORE: David De Gea apologises to Manchester United fans after error against Chelsea


Leave a Reply