Strictly 2019: 'Major error' Michelle Visage leaves fans 'disappointed' – here's why

Strictly Come Dancing was live from the Blackpool Tower this evening as the remaining seven celebrity contestants took to the iconic dance floor to perform for the ninth time in the series. Michelle Visage and professional dance partner Giovanni Pernice were performing their Couple’s Choice which was Street/Commercial to Madonna’s iconic Vogue single. However, those watching at home thought her routine would see her get booted out of the competition after they complained about the lack of steps compared to her fellow competitors dances. 

She received a warmth of comments from the judges. 

“The house of Michelle rules!” Bruno Tonioli commented. “This was a great tribute to the mother of all divas.” 

Craig Revel Horwood added: “Just on a technical note, there needed to be a little bit more definition, particularly if you’re going to go around your face to make those circles clear.

“That’s what voguing is – it’s about being very definitive. I loved the styling and I absolutely loved the sentiment.” 

“I loved the styling of everything,” Motsi Mabuse added. 

“I feel like we’re watching a movie or story, the message behind that dance was so important.” 

READ MORE: Strictly 2019: Fans blast Craig Revel Horwood for not giving Kelvin 10

As for whether or not she stays it he competition, viewers will have to vote for the RuPaul’s Drag Race UK judge. 

Nevertheless, should she make it through to week two, there is the high chance she will be in the final. 

It comes after her partner Giovanni has always been in the final show should he get to Blackpool week. 


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

READ  Maddison Brown makes X-rated confession about wanting to 'f***' both Hemsworths brothers

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series, which originally aired in July of 2004. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2004 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis in December of 2004. 

2005 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2006 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s mic get caught in Karen’s dress.

2007 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2008 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2009 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2010 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

READ  The Chase contestants win incredible £80,000 as chaser makes several big mistakes

2011 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2012 winner: Louis Smith

The tenth series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2013 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series eleven of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2014 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2015 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2016 winner: Ore Oduba

Ore Oduba won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Joanne Clifton.

The sports presenter broke down in tears after beating Danny Mac and Louise Redknapp.

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

Joe McFadden was victorious with professional dance partner Katya Jones. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley

Documentary-maker Stacey fought off competition to make it to the Grand Final of Strictly Come Dancing with professional dance partner Kevin Clifton last year. When they won, Kevin described her as “the most wonderful person”.

READ  ‘The Walking Dead’ heading to court over stuntman’s ‘wrongful death’


Leave a Reply