General election 2019: Full list of MPs who rejected snap poll and search how yours voted

The House of Commons voted for a general election on Thursday 12 December by 438 to 20.

Earlier opposition parties had tried to change the date of the election to 9 December, but this was voted down by 315 to 295.

A large number of Labour MPs joined the SNP and Lib Dems in abstaining.

And many Labour MPs are deeply unhappy at the prospect of an election in the run-up to Christmas.

More than 50 signed an amendment calling for the election to be delayed to May 2020.

104 of the party’s MPs decided not to vote on the poll, with 11 voting to block it.

Joining the Labour dissenters, independent MPs and Welsh nationalists took the numbers voting to block the snap poll to 20.


MPs who voted against a December 12 election

Adrian Bailey

Margaret Beckett

Ann Clwyd

Ann Coffey

Jonathan Edwards

Paul Farrelly

Mike Gapes

Lady Hermon

Peter Kyle

David Lammy

Caroline Lucas

Ian C. Lucas

Angus Brendan MacNeil

Albert Owen

Liz Saville Roberts

Barry Sheerman

Owen Smith

Anna Soubry

Hywel Williams

Daniel Zeichner

Find out how your MP voted on a December 12 general election


READ  Donald Trump wanted to give the Queen a racehorse to mark his State visit

Leave a Reply