Director Dexter Fletcher on the Response to ‘Rocketman’ and Plans for ‘Sherlock Holmes 3’

Last week, I got to visit London for the home entertainment release of Dexter Fletcher’s fantasy musical biopic Rocketman. The film takes a unique approach to telling the story of Elton John (Taron Egerton) as it flits between fantasy and reality in going through the musician’s life as he grapples with success, addiction, love, and despair. It’s one of my favorite movies of the year so far, and I was thrilled that I got to sit down and talk with Fletcher about the film.

During our conversation, we talked about how he approached the tone of the various music numbers, how the film doesn’t take a strict adherence to chronology, and more. We also talked about his signing on to direct Sherlock Holmes 3, if he spoke to director Guy Ritchie about it (the two previously worked together on Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels), and how his take on the film will differ.

rocketman-4k-blu-ray-box-art-coverCheck out the interview above. Rocketman is now available on digital, 4K, Blu-ray, and DVD. Here’s a full list of the special features:

  • · Extended Musical Numbers:
    • Introduction by Dexter Fletcher
    • The Bitch Is Back
    • Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
    • Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache
    • Honky Cat
  • Deleted and Extended Scenes:
    • Introduction by Dexter Fletcher
    • I Love Rock And Roll
    • You’ve Got to Kill the Person You Were Born To Be
    • Arabella
    • Elton in the Gas Oven
    • Stylish Boots
    • You’re Not the First Closet Queer with a Mummy Complex
    • The Blood Test
    • The Heart Attack
    • The Launderette
    • Do You Want Anything?
  • It’s Going to Be a Wild Ride: Creative Vision
  • Becoming Elton John: Taron’s Transformation
  • Larger Than Life: Production Design & Costuming
  • Full Tilt: Staging the Musical Numbers
  • Music Reimagined: The Studio Sessions – Behind the scenes in the recording studio with Taron & Elton
  • ROCKETMAN Lyric Companion: Sing-Along with Select Songs (English only):
    • The Bitch Is Back
    • I Want Love
    • Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
    • Your Song
    • Crocodile Rock
    • Tiny Dancer
    • Honky Cat
    • Rocket Man
    • Bennie and the Jets
    • Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me
    • Sorry Seems to Be the Hardest Word
    • Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
    • I’m Still Standing
  • ROCKETMAN Jukebox: Jump Straight to the Music


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.