JOHN MCGINN’S 53rd-minute strike earned Scotland all three points against Cyprus in their penultimate Euro 2020 qualifier.

Prior to the trip to Nicosia, a run of one win in their past five qualifying games meant Steve Clarke’s men couldn’t progress from Group I and will require Nations League play-off success to reach next summer’s tournament.

Yet, victory at GSP Stadium hands them a much needed morale boost, with Ryan Christie opening the scoring with a stunning curling effort.

The Mediterranean island side equalised through Georgios Efrem, before Aston Villa ace McGinn secured the win just minutes later.

Scotland XI: Marshall, Palmer, Taylor, Jack, Gallagher, McKenna, Forrest, McGinn, Naismith, McGregor, Christie

Subs: McLaughlin, MacGillivray, Shinnie, Fleck, Devlin, Morgan, Burke, Armstrong, Shankland, McBurnie, O’Donnell, Porteous


READ  Man Utd fans brutally troll Liverpool over Harry Maguire transfer - ‘Better than Van Dijk'


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here