Amber list countries: The holiday destinations which require UK quarantine

BRITS can finally go on holiday again this week – but only to destinations on the green list.

Most countries, including most of Europe, are still on the UK’s amber list – and are currently not advised for travelling to on holiday.

🔵 Read our coronavirus live blog for the latest updates

Most of Europe is currently on the UK amber list


Most of Europe is currently on the UK amber listCredit: EPA

On Monday, thousands of holidaymakers flocked to the airport for their first holiday this year after the travel ban was lifted.

While many headed to green-list Portugal, which doesn’t require a quarantine when returning to the UK, others headed to Spain and Greece which are on the amber list.

Still requiring a 10-day quarantine when returning to the UK, as well as a pre-arrival Covid test and test on day two and eight, MPs have since warned that the countries are still not meant to be visited for holiday reasons.

It comes as:

Germany has now banned Brits from entering the country from midnight on Sunday, May 23, after deeming the UK as a virus variant area of concern.

It comes after Spain lifted travel restrictions on British visitors.

Only German citizens or residents – and their spouses and children – will be permitted to travel from Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

Those with special circumstances such as immediate family bereavements are still able to enter, but anyone travelling from the UK must quarantine for two weeks on arrival, even if they test negative for the coronavirus.

People who are transferring from one flight to another are also allowed in, but have to remain in the airport transit area.

READ  Brit forced to go on 26-hour BUS ride after ‘getting kicked off 2-hour flight when she told airline about nut allergy’

Earlier this week, Matt Hancock said that people should only travel to amber countries if “absolutely necessary” while Prime Minister Boris Johnson added: “It is not somewhere you should be going on holiday, let me be very clear about that.”

Education Minister Gillian Keegan echoed both Boris Johnson’s and Matt Hancock’s warning, telling Times Radio: “Amber list countries are there for a reason – they are there so that you can travel for business, you can travel for particular situations such as funerals or if there are some specific care issues in your family.

Only 12 countries are on the green list


Only 12 countries are on the green list

Here are all the countries on the amber list at the moment:

  • Afghanistan
  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Albania
  • Algeria
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • The Bahamas
  • Bahrain
  • Barbados
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Benin
  • Bermuda
  • Bhutan
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Bulgaria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • China
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Côte d’Ivoire
  • Croatia
  • Cuba
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic (Czechia)
  • Denmark
  • Djibouti
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Egypt
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Estonia
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Polynesia
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Ghana
  • Greece (including islands)
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Guatemala
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macao
  • Madagascar
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Martinique
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Myanmar (Burma)
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • The Occupied Palestinian Territories
  • Palau
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Poland
  • Réunion
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Sierra Leone
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Korea
  • South Sudan
  • Spain (including the Balearics and Canary Islands)
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Martin and St Barthélemy
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sudan
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Syria
  • Taiwan
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turkmenistan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • United States (USA)
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vietnam
  • Wallis and Futuna
  • Western Sahara
  • Yemen
READ  British Airways boss Willie Walsh claims more airlines could go bust after Thomas Cook collapse

The amber list is not exhaustive. If a country or territory is not on this list, you should not assume that it is a green or red list country or territory.

Countries on the rest list include Turkey, the Maldives and Nepal which were added earlier this month along with the UAE.

It is also subject to change at short notice.

Here is the full list of green countries, although only four are currently open to Brits.

More could be added to the list from June 7, it has been revealed.

We’ve explained what Covid tests you may need for your holiday this year, as well as how much they might cost.


Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you accept our use of cookies.